Child Centred Policing EEM learning module

Welcome to the Child Centred Policing learning module for Exeter, East and Mid Devon. In this short course, we will cover the following:

  • The role of the Youth Engagement officer

  • The role of the Youth Intervention officer

  • The Youth Intervention clinic and Form 370

  • The role of the Youth Justice Service seconded police officers

Our Vision: A youth justice system that sees children as children, treats them fairly and helps them to build on their strengths so they can make a constructive contribution to society. This will prevent offending and create safer communities with fewer victims

Youth Justice Board (‘child first’ approach)

We will ensure our staff adopt a trauma informed approach, understand early intervention will have a significant impact and work with partners to reduce criminalisation of young people. Where circumstances dictate and arrest is justifiable, we will do that in a trauma informed way

Child Centred Policing (NPCC Plan)

Contact details

Name Area Tel Email
PC Lindsay Dell Exmouth 309029 lindsay.dell@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk

YIO Contact details

Name Area Tel Email
PC Simon Evans Exmouth 07595 004305 simon.evans2@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
PC Hannah Lamport Cullompton 07525 406353 hannah.lamport@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
PC Dave Walter Exeter 07525 406243 dave.walter@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
PC Lindsey Aldington Exeter lindsey.aldington@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk

Contact details

Name Based Tel Email
PC Mike Gold Exeter 01392 384978 michael.gold@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk
PC Michelle Roberts Exeter 01392 384978 michelle.roberts1@devonandcornwall.pnn.police.uk

Under the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, children and young people have the following rights

  • Article 3 (best interests of the child) – The best interests of the child must be a top priority in all decisions and actions that affect children.
  • Article 12 (respect for the views of the child) Every child has the right to express their views, feelings and wishes in all matters affecting them, and to have their views considered and taken seriously.
  • Article 37 (inhumane treatment and detention) Children should be arrested, detained or imprisoned only as a last resort and for the shortest time possible. They must be treated with respect and care.
  • Article 39 (recovery from trauma and reintegration) Children who have experienced neglect, abuse, exploitation, torture or who are victims of war must receive special support to help them recover their health, dignity, self-respect and social life.
  • Article 40 (juvenile justice) A child accused or guilty of breaking the law must be treated with dignity and respect. They have the right to legal assistance and a fair trial that takes account of their age.

Additional contents/links etc

Thank you for completing this module. Please complete the form below.

EEM complete

EEM complete

Share this:

Voice of the Child

Shaken Baby