What’s all this fuss about SnapMaps?

You may be aware that there was a lot of media interest in July when the new feature of SnapChat was launched in June 2017. SnapMaps is a street map, similar to Google or Apple Maps, which also shows your locations to your friends if they have added each other. Users can disable location sharing on the map, or only open it to certain friends, but if they are showing location then this is down to the level of the building so home addresses are readily identifiable. The main concern her would be users accidentally revealing their location to “online friends” that they don’t actually know.

The app doesn’t quite track users in real-time, but updates their location every time they open the Snapchat app. If you haven’t opened it for a few hours, you will disappear from the map.

We would recommend that users put Snap Chat into Ghost Mode, which means that you are the only person who can see your location on the map. You can still see the locations of your friends but they will be unable to see you. This setting will ensure that you have complete control over who knows your location. However, if you submit a Snap to ‘Our Story’ this Snap may still be public, and may reveal your location, even if you are using Ghost Mode.

Many other apps such as Instagram, Facebook, Muscial.ly also use location services, but the popularity of Snapchat makes this a bigger concern.

For more information, head to

https://support.snapchat.com/en-GB/article/location-snap-map